Tell Me a Story, part 14: Said says goodbye

Years ago, I briefly rented a post-office box and took out an ad in the classifieds which, apart from listing the box address, simply read “Tell me a story.” One of the respondents, Said, sent a number of letters. To see earlier ones, click here –https://ottawaephemera.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/tell-me-a-story-part-13-saids-sad-story/– to go to his previous one, where there are links to earlier ones.

I’ve removed his address and phone number.

TMAS14

Tell Me A Story

Letter #14

Received Jan. 28, 2002

Hand-written on 8-1/2×11″ paper

Ottawa, Ont.,

Jan. 24, 2002

Dear beautiful friend,

I have told you a story. I wished you had heard it directly and I am sure that would have been a far more wonderful story. I have your tape. I had taken more initiative and I expected a few words from you.

In March I leave Canada for 3 months and visit Europe as well as the Orient. I wondered if I could only meet you. The best thing and safe can be a lunch at Chateau Laurier. I am also a wonderful cook & could offer at my place.

If you keep silence it would mean that I won’t respond for any friendly gesture to any one in future. Please do write.

Yours sincerely,

Said.

Tele: ###-####

Leave a Reply

