I can’t wait till the day I’ll never see you again

IMG_0002

I found this on the sidewalk outside the Government Convention Centre on Wellington Street recently. It’s a poem written on the back of an otherwise unused Air Canada Jazz passenger count sheet. Perhaps the plight of a flight attendant with a heavy heart? And it goes, as they say, like this:

 

I can’t wait till the day

I’ll never see you again

 

I’m too scared to leave u

I’m scared youd kill me

Scared that youd kill yourself

I don’t want to hurt you

 

A Friend of mine gave me

the nicest present on New Years eve.

it was a piece of paper saying

<<Somebody that gives up her liberty for security doesn’t deserve any other>>

I hate the person that I’ve become snce I met you

hate the way I act

the way I think.

 

The author has then crossed out what apparently were the poem’s final three lines:

 

I hate the person that you are

hate the way u act

the way u think.

 

IMG_0001

One response to “I can’t wait till the day I’ll never see you again

  1. “Those who would give up an essential liberty for temporary security deserve neither liberty nor security” – Benjamin Franklin -motto on the title page of An Historical Review of the Constitution and Government of Pennsylvania. (1759), is probably the origin of the phrase partially referred to in this note. This issue back in vogue due to contemporary debate over civil liberties vs. national security in the post 9/11 world.

Leave a Reply

